What does “license type” mean in Wyoming?

What does license types mean in Wyoming for hunting

This time of year, everyone’s thoughts are on getting our applications in order. One of the biggest applications and most of everyone’s first application of the year is Wyoming elk.

What exactly does license type mean?

When researching your options for elk in Wyoming, we often hear a lot of questions in regards to what a “license type” actually means. In Wyoming, license type indicates limitations such as sex of the animal, length of the season, type of weapon or the portion of the hunt area in which the license is valid. The following table can help you understand the difference in license types.

License types in Wyoming

TypeDescriptionFee Type
Type 1 and 2Antlered or anyFull price
Type 3Antlered or any whitetail deer
Full price elk
Full price antelope
Full price
Type 4 and 5AntlerlessFull price
Type 6 and 7Antlerless
(doe/fawn, cow/calf or ewe/lamb)
Reduced price
Type 8Doe/fawn whitetail deer
Reduced price cow/calf elk
Reduced price doe/fawn antelope
Full price
Type 9Archery onlyFull price
Type 0Specialty weapon only
(excluding archery)
Full price
Type AAny Mountain GoatFull price

When it comes to elk, below are the most common license types and a short description of them.

Type 1 license

Valid for the season and weapon as indicated within the Wyoming regulations—typically a Type 1 is a rifle hunt. In addition, most Type 1 licenses will also allow hunters to purchase an over-the-counter (OTC) archery stamp and bowhunt during the entire month or a portion of September.

Type 2 license

Most often a Type 2 license varies by season or boundary. For example, Area 16 has both a Type 1 and Type 2—the first license type starts Oct. 1; the second type staring on Nov. 1. Some vary by what portion of the hunt area is valid to hunt. For example, Area 54 Type 1 is valid north of the Clarks Fork River; Type 2 is valid south of the river. It’s also important to note that some Type 2 tags allow hunters to hunt the entire hunt area with the purchase of the archery license during the archery dates.

Type 9 license

These are archery hunts that are only valid in the hunt area and during the archery dates indicated. Something to be aware of is some areas allow Type 1 license holders to hunt along with Type 9 hunters for the whole hunt—or portions of it—if they buy the archery license and want to hunt. This may add some additional pressure to those areas. So pay attention to this when applying.

Type 4 and 5

These are full priced cow/calf licenses. One thing to be aware of is that if you apply for one of these licenses as your first choice and draw it you will lose any preference points you have saved up.

Type 6 and 7

A Type 6 and Type 7 are reduced price licenses and will not use your points. In fact, you apply for those on a separate application within the state draw system. The drawing for reduced price licenses is random with no respect to points.

General licenses

Allow hunters to hunt in any general hunt area. Purchasing an archery stamp will also allow general season hunters to hunt with a bow and return to hunt during the rifle season if they have not yet filled their license.

Archery areas/seasons that can be hunted with purchase of the archery license

Hunt AreasLicense
1, 7-10, 12, 13, 15, 16,
19, 21-25, 2730-33, 47-49,
5556, 58, 59, 61-64, 83, 87-94, 96,
99, 100, 102-111, 114, 116-118,
120, 122, 124-128, 130
AllSept. 1-30Valid in the entire area(s)
3AllSept. 1-14Valid in the entire area(s)
11, 36, 37, 67-69AllSept. 15-30Valid in the entire area(s)
60, 70, 71, 73, 97, 98AllSept. 1-19Valid in the entire area(s)
78, 80-82, 84-86AllSept. 1-25Valid in the entire area(s)
6General, 6Sept. 1-30Valid off of National Forest
61, 4Sept. 1-30Valid in the entire area(s)
28General, 4Sept. 1-30Valid in the entire area(s)
341Sept. 1-30Valid in the entire area(s)
346Sept. 1-30Valid off National Forest
351, 4Sept. 15-30Valid in the entire area(s)
356Sept. 15-30Valid off National Forest
41, 451, 4, 5Sept. 15-30Valid in the entire area(s)
951, 4, 5, 6Sept. 1-30Valid in the entire area(s)
952Sept. 1-30Any elk valid within the Green River Drainage upstream from
the outlet of Lower Green River Lake, including that
portion east and south of Mill Creek

Note: Type 9 elk licenses are valid for archery only and do not require a separate archery license.

How many elk tags can I get?

A hunter can have up to three elk licenses in a year. A hunter could apply for a full price Type 1, 2, 9 or general season limited quota and a Type 4 or 5 (cow/calf) as a second or third choice on the same initial application. They can also apply for a reduced price Type 6, 7 or 8 in the reduced price draw, which is a separate application. That reduced price cow elk application is due by May 31 for residents and January 31 for nonresidents. Since it is a separate application from the full price bull elk application, hunters will not lose points when applying for reduced price cow elk licenses. You would lose them if you apply for the Type 4 or 5 cow tags as a first choice in the full price draw.

In summary

Wyoming license types on goHUNT

You will notice that license types are called out on our INSIDER research platform on Filtering 2.0, our standalone Draw Odds page and on Unit Profiles.

Remember the Wyoming nonresident elk application deadline is Jan. 31, 2020, by 11:59 p.m. MST. Gain more insights into your Wyoming elk application strategy here.



Trail Kreitzer

Trail Kreitzer

Free Trial
INSIDER Free Trial
Free Sample Unit Profile